ELSA LENTHAL

I was lucky to grow up near the beautiful village of Les Baux de Provence. The surrounding nature was the playground of my childhood, from the fields of olive trees to the rocky cliffs of Val d’Enfer. I have always had a deep attachment for this environment , so rich and so preserved.

When I was 10, during the summer, my mother taught me to make a fuseaux. With a few sprigs of freshly cut lavender and some satin ribbon, I discovered the charm of this typically Provencal craft. Once woven the fuseau combined the elegance of a refined manual gesture with the delicacy of the lavender scent.

A few years later, as a teenager, I decided to make this my first summer job: making fuseaux at the provencal markets. Equipped with a simple wooden chair and a wicker basket, this adventure was also a revelation. I discovered the amazed interest of the clients for this almost forgotten craft.

Then it was the departure for the Parisian capital here I studied cinema. With several years on the set under my belt, I flew away to spend many years in Asia. In the Philippines and in Cambodia I returned to my primary passion: crafts. An extremely rich experience in which I developed collaborations with women in remote Filipino provinces as well as a textile workshop in Phnom Penh.

On my return to Provence in 2015, I set out to develop the Fuseaux de Lavande adventure, with the firm desire to sustainably anchor the project in my beloved Provence. Imaging new products, forging links with marginalised people, planting 4000 lavender plants in the Alpilles… the adventure is gaining momentum. To my great joy I remain in tune with my values, my convictions and my ever-renewed desire.

ELSA LENTHAL

J’ai eu la chance de grandir près du magnifique village des Baux de Provence. La nature environnante fut le terrain de jeu de mon enfance, des champs d’oliviers aux rochers escarpés du Val d’Enfer. Je garde depuis toujours un attachement profond pour cet environnement si riche et si préservé des Alpilles.

L’été de mes 10 ans, ma mère m’initia à la fabrication d’un fuseau de lavande. Quelques brins de lavande fraîchement coupés, du ruban de satin et je découvrais avec émerveillement ce savoir-faire typiquement provençal. Le fuseau, une fois tressé, alliait l’élégance d’un geste manuel raffiné à la délicatesse du parfum de la lavande.

Quelques années plus tard, adolescente, je décidais d’en faire mon premier job d’été : fabriquer des fuseaux de lavande sur les marchés provençaux. Munie d’une simple chaise en bois et d’un panier en osier, cette aventure fut aussi une révélation : j’observais l’émerveillement des clients qui découvraient cette tradition provençale par le partage et la démonstration du geste, transmis depuis plusieurs générations.

Puis ce fut le départ vers la capitale parisienne, des études dans le cinéma. Plusieurs années sur les plateaux à mon actif, je m’envolais ensuite vers l’Asie pendant de nombreuses années. Aux Philippines, au Cambodge, je revenais à mes passions premières : l’artisanat. Une expérience extrêmement riche où je développais des collaborations avec des femmes dans des provinces philippines reculées, ou encore un atelier de confection textile à Phnom Penh.

De retour en Provence en 2015, j’entrepris de développer l’aventure Fuseaux de Lavande, avec la ferme envie d’ancrer durablement mon projet sur le territoire provençal que j’affectionne tout particulièrement. Imaginer de nouveaux produits, tisser des collaborations avec des publics marginalisés, planter 4000 pieds de lavandin dans les Alpilles…l’aventure Fuseaux de Lavande prend de l’ampleur, mais je reste pour mon plus grand bonheur en phase avec mes valeurs, mes convictions et mes envies de toujours.